Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

The Sunsurge Quartet

The fourth book of The Sunsurge Quartet now out (large format and e-book only).


They called her the Empress of the Fall . . . and now her empire is falling apart.

Lyra, Queen of Rondelmar, has fought enemies without and within, dealt with grief and loss, embraced forbidden magic, found her father and borne a child – and still it isn’t enough. Her enemies are on the march and the Rondian Empire is collapsing.

But a more dangerous adversary is out there . . . and he is winning. Ervyn Naxius, amoral genius, has unleashed war on two continents and now laughs as the world of Urte tears itself apart. Kings and priests dance to his tune and his daemonic followers are spreading through the lands, but still he isn’t satisfied. His ultimate goal – absolute control of all life – is finally within his reach…

Are these the Last Days, when the daemons rise up to claim the world?

From snowbound Mollachia to the beleaguered walls of Norostein, from the poisonous court of the new sultan to the deadly intrigues of Pallas, the omens are clear. Only Lyra and a handful of other heretical dwymancers have grasped the true danger – and they won’t give up until every last hope is buried . . .


‘Superb  . . . a top 5 of the year for me’ Fantasy Book Critic

‘Increasingly addictive . . . Adult fantasy lovers who enjoy historical fiction and intricate political plots will love this book’ A Bohemian Mind

‘I continue to be impressed by the way Hair takes some very familiar, almost trite, ideas and spins them in a new way. Epic fantasy is not dying, my friends, it is just moving in new directions’ Fantasy Review Barn

‘Filled with action, adventure, magic, love, danger and hope. This is a series I cannot recommend enough’ C.E. Tracy, author of The Chronicles of the Fallen

Book Watch

OUT NOW: SORCERER'S EDGE; Book 3 of the Tethered Citadel trilogy

After all they’ve suffered, rebel sorcerer Raythe Vyre and his fortune-seekers are still empty-handed, but they’ve found real treasure: peace.

Deep inside the Ice wastes, Raythe’s people stumbled upon Rath Argentium, the legendary Aldar city, and the long-lost Tangato people. After fighting through betrayal, treachery and powerful magic, they forged a hard-won treaty with the Tangato and their extraordinary queen, Shiazar. Now they’ve put aside their dreams of wealth and revenge and embraced something better: a life outside the tyrannical Bolgravian Empire.

But the Bolgravian Empire never gives up.


The empire hasn’t forgotten Raythe Vyre, and his enemies know where he is. Guided by Toran Zorne, the implacable imperial assassin, they are coming to claim Rath Argentium for themselves. Raythe and Shiazar know all too well that courage and cunning won’t be enough this time: they are outnumbered, out-gunned and out of time.  


Faced with total annihilation, it’s up to Raythe to find an edge . . . 



‘A page-turning adventure filled with excitement and intriguing characters. For those loving an epic fantasy with plenty of sword-fights, gun-play, bare-fisted combat and battles between sorcerers, this book’s for you’ Amazing Stories

‘There’s a lot of cool stuff, ancient civilisations, magic, a heist, personal loss, love, and humour. I enjoyed this so much’  Alalhambra Book Reviews

A fast-paced, entertaining read, set within a world that I want to explore more of’ Beneath A Thousand Skies on Map’s Edge

‘Hair is a talented storyteller and Map's Edge a satisfying and fun read, entertaining and rewarding that will sate the appetite of any fantasy lover looking for an epic adventure'  The Tattooed Book Geek


‘The magic and the world-building [which] are tied together in a way I found really interesting’ The Fantasy Inn on Map’s Edge

Recent News


TALMONT: THE BURNING LAND (Book One of a New Trilogy)

Release: February 2024

The Falcons are knights of the Vestal Order, pledged to use their supernatural powers to protect society from the bestial Vyr and the ecological carnage they have unleashed on the Empire of Talmont.

When the Falcons capture a Vyr, they take the fateful decision to interrogate him themselves, against the Order’s protocols. From the captured rebel they learn of a terrible possibility: that civilisation’s worst enemy may not be the Vyr at all – but their own Order.

The indomitable Romara Challys and her beloved comrade Jadyn Kaen lead the Falcons through burning forests, lost ruins and the uncanny refuge of a dying race, on their quest for lost powers and hidden truths.

But Yoryn Borghart, a fanatical Lictor with his own agenda of evil, and Vazi Virago, the greatest warrior-knight of the Age, are leading the Order on their own quest: to bring the traitorous Falcons to justice, before they fatally undermine the whole edifice of power.

Time is running out… for everyone.


ConZealand 2020

David was a presenter at ConZealand, giving a presentation on aspects of WORLD-BUILDING FOR FANTASY. Here's a PDF of his presentation powerpoint, for those interested in a permanent record - click here.